Scientific Committee

Mario Argandoña Yáñez. (Bolivia) Psychiatrist. Former Minister of Social Welfare and Public Health of the Plurinational State of Bolivia and former Director of the World Health Organization’s Drug Program. He was vice-chancellorof the Universidad Mayor de San Simon.

Luis Astorga. (Mexico) Ph.D. in Sociology and member of the Social Investigation Institute at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).

Julio Bejarano Orozco(Costa Rica) Psychologist, Master in Drug Addiction. Researcher at the Institute for Alcoholism and Drug Dependence of Costa Rica. Professor of the Universidad Estatal a Distancia (UNED) and the University of Costa Rica.

Adrián Bonilla Soria(Ecuador) Ph.D. in International Relations. Secretary General of the Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences (FLACSO).

José Miguel Cruz. (El Salvador) Psychologist. Ph.D. in Political Science. Visiting Assistant Professor at the Florida International University (FIU). Former  director of the University Institute of Public Opinion (IUDOP) at the University of Central America (UCA) in San Salvador.

Carmen de León Escribano. (Guatemala) Sociologist and anthropologist. Executive Director of the Instituto de Enseñanza para el Desarrollo Sostenible (IEPADES). Member of the Security Advisory Council to the President of the Republic of Guatemala.

Martin Hopenhayn. (Chile) Director of the Division of Social Development for the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL).

Julita Lemgruber. (Brazil) Master’s degree in Sociology. Coordinator of the Center for Studies on Public Security and Citizenship at University Candido Mendes.

Socorro Ramirez. (Colombia) Retired Professor from the Universidad Nacional in Colombia and Columnist for El Tiempo Newspaper.

Luis Yarzábal. (Uruguay) Doctor specialized in immuno-parasitology. He was National Director of Public Education. Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Monitoring and evaluation of the Regulation and Control of Cannabis Law.

Eugenio Raúl Zaffaroni. (Argentina) Minister of the Justice Supreme Court of the Republic of Argentina.