Scientific Committee

Mario Argandoña Yáñez. (Bolivia) Psychiatrist. Former Minister of Social Welfare and Public Health of the Plurinational State of Bolivia and former Director of the World Health Organization’s Drug Program. Also the former Vice-Chancellor of the Universidad Mayor de San Simon.

Luis Astorga. (Mexico) Ph.D. in Sociology and member of the Social Investigation Institute at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).

Rose-Marie Belle Antoine. (Trinidad and Tobago/Saint Lucia) Lawyer, Professor and Dean of the University of the West Indies, specializing in human rights, and former Commissioner of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights(2011-2015).

Martin Hopenhayn. (Chile) Former Director of the Division of Social Development for the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL).

Robert Paulino. (República Dominicana) Dr. Paulino-Ramirez is a research professor specializing in microbiology, molecular genetics, and tropical medicine at UNIBE and the Director of the university’s new Institute for Tropical Medicine and Global Health.

Claudia Paz y Paz. (Guatemala) Lawyer,  she served as Guatemala’s first woman Attorney General from 2010 to 2014. During her tenure, she pursued cases against perpetrators of massive human right’s abuses, and has worked tirelessly throughout her career as a legal scholar and judge to ensure access to justice for women and marginalized groups.

Francisco I. Pinkusfeld Bastos. (Brazil) MD/Ph.D, Senior Researcher, Health Information Department at  Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (CICT/FIOCRUZ).

Socorro Ramírez. (Colombia) Ph.D in Politcal Science and former(retired) Professor from the Universidad Nacional in Colombia and Columnist for El Tiempo Newspaper.

Luis Yarzábal. (Uruguay) Medical Doctor specialized in immuno-parasitology. Former National Director of Public Education. Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Monitoring and evaluation of the Regulation and Control of Cannabis Law.

Eugenio Raúl Zaffaroni. (Argentina) Former Minister of the Justice Supreme Court of the Republic of Argentina and member of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.